9 Books Like Song of Ice and Fire but without Dragon and Magic

9 Books Like Song of Ice and Fire but without Dragon and MagicSong of Ice and Fire is the most successful series books these years, the TV show based on the books is also the most popular these years. It attracts millions of fans who like the conspiracy, wars, diplomacy and love.

However, there are people don’t like the dragons, the magic, the unhuman things.

So I compiled this list, most of them are also series of books, describing a grand warfare.

Asian Saga (5 Book Series) (Kindle Edition)


From Book 1: A bold English adventurer. An invincible Japanese warlord. A beautiful woman torn between two ways of life, two ways of love. All brought together in an extraordinary saga of a time and a place aflame with conflict, passion, ambition, lust, and the struggle for power…

From the Paperback edition.

Kindle Edition:Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

The Accursed Kings Series Books 1-3: The Iron King, The Strangled Queen, The Poisoned Crown (Kindle Edition)


“This is the original Game of Thrones.” George R.R. Martin.

A collection of the first three books in Maurice Druon’s epic historical fiction series, The Accursed Kings.

“Accursed! Accursed! You shall be accursed to the thirteenth generation!”

The Iron King – Philip the Fair – is as cold and silent, as handsome and unblinking as a statue. He governs his realm with an iron hand, but he cannot rule his own family: his sons are weak and their wives adulterous; while his red-blooded daughter Isabella is unhappily married to an English king who prefers the company of men.

A web of scandal, murder and intrigue is weaving itself around the Iron King; but his downfall will come from an unexpected quarter. Bent on the persecution of the rich and powerful Knights Templar, Philip sentences Grand Master Jacques Molay to be burned at the stake, thus drawing down upon himself a curse that will destroy his entire dynasty…

This bundle collects the first three novels of The Accursed Kings: THE IRON KING, THE STRANGLED QUEEN and THE POISONED CROWN.

List Price:Price Not Listed
Kindle Edition:Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

The Expanse Collection: Books 1-3 (Kindle Edition)


From Book 1:

This book is the basis for the first season of The Expanse, now a major television series from Syfy!

Leviathan Wakes is James S. A. Corey’s first novel in the epic, New York Times bestselling series the Expanse, a modern masterwork of science fiction where humanity has colonized the solar system.

Two hundred years after migrating into space, mankind is in turmoil. When a reluctant ship’s captain and washed-up detective find themselves involved in the case of a missing girl, what they discover brings our solar system to the brink of civil war, and exposes the greatest conspiracy in human history.

The Expanse
Leviathan Wakes
Caliban’s War
Abaddon’s Gate
Cibola Burn
Nemesis Games
Babylon’s Ashes
The Expanse Short Fiction
The Butcher of Anderson Station
Gods of Risk
The Churn
The Vital Abyss
Kindle Edition:Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

L.A. Confidential (Kindle Edition)


L.A. Confidential is epic “noir”, a crime novel of astonishing detail and scope written by the bestselling author of The Black Dahlia. A horrific mass murder invades the lives of victims and victimizers on both sides of the law. And three lawmen are caught in a deadly spiral, a nightmare that tests loyalty and courage, and offers no mercy, grants no survivors.

(124,000 words)

List Price:Price Not Listed
Kindle Edition:Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

The Plantagenets: The Warrior Kings and Queens Who Made England (Kindle Edition)


The New York Times bestseller that tells the story of Britain’s greatest and worst dynasty—“a real-life Game of Thrones” (The Wall Street Journal)

From the author of Magna Carta: The Birth of Liberty

The first Plantagenet kings inherited a blood-soaked realm from the Normans and transformed it into an empire that stretched at its peak from Scotland to Jerusalem. In this epic narrative history of courage, treachery, ambition, and deception, Dan Jones resurrects the unruly royal dynasty that preceded the Tudors. They produced England’s best and worst kings: Henry II and his wife Eleanor of Aquitaine, twice a queen and the most famous woman in Christendom; their son Richard the Lionheart, who fought Saladin in the Third Crusade; and his conniving brother King John, who was forced to grant his people new rights under the Magna Carta, the basis for our own bill of rights. Combining the latest academic research with a gift for storytelling, Jones vividly recreates the great battles of Bannockburn, Crécy, and Sluys and reveals how the maligned kings Edward II and Richard II met their downfalls. This is the era of chivalry and the Black Death, the Knights Templar, the founding of parliament, and the Hundred Years’ War, when England’s national identity was forged by the sword.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

List Price:Price Not Listed
Kindle Edition:Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

A John Rain Novel (8 Book Series) (Kindle Edition)


From Book 1:

Previously published as Rain Fall

Name: John Rain.
Vocation: Assassin.
Specialty: Natural Causes.
Base of operations: Tokyo.
Availability: Worldwide.

Half American, half Japanese, expert in both worlds but at home in neither, John Rain is the best killer money can buy. You tell him who. You tell him where. He doesn’t care about why…

Until he gets involved with Midori Kawamura, a beautiful jazz pianist—and the daughter of his latest kill.

A Clean Kill in Tokyo was previously published as Rain Fall, the first in the bestselling John Rain assassin series.

Kindle Edition:Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

The Sunne In Splendour: A Novel of Richard III (Kindle Edition)



The classic, magnificent bestselling novel about Richard III, now in a special thirtieth anniversary edition with a new preface by the author

In this triumphant combination of scholarship and storytelling, Sharon Kay Penman redeems Richard III—vilified as the bitter, twisted, scheming hunchback who murdered his nephews, the princes in the Tower—from his maligned place in history.

Born into the treacherous courts of fifteenth-century England, in the midst of what history has called The War of the Roses, Richard was raised in the shadow of his charismatic brother, King Edward IV. Loyal to his friends and passionately in love with the one woman who was denied him, Richard emerges as a gifted man far more sinned against than sinning.

With revisions throughout and a new author’s preface discussing the astonishing discovery of Richard’s remains five centuries after his death, Sharon Kay Penman’s brilliant classic is more powerful and glorious than ever.

List Price:Price Not Listed
Kindle Edition:Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

The Once and Future King (Kindle Edition)


T. H. White’s masterful retelling of the saga of King Arthur is a fantasy classic as legendary as Excalibur and Camelot, and a poignant story of adventure, romance and magic that has enchanted readers for generations.
 
Once upon a time, a young boy called “Wart” was tutored by a magician named Merlyn in preparation for a future he couldn’t possibly imagine. A future in which he would ally himself with the greatest knights, love a legendary queen and unite a country dedicated to chivalrous values. A future that would see him crowned and known for all time as Arthur, King of the Britons.
 
During Arthur’s reign, the kingdom of Camelot was founded to cast enlightenment on the Dark Ages, while the knights of the Round Table embarked on many a noble quest. But Merlyn foresaw the treachery that awaited his liege: the forbidden love between Queen Guenever and Lancelot, the wicked plots of Arthur’s half-sister Morgause and the hatred she fostered in Mordred that would bring an end to the king’s dreams for Britain—and to the king himself.

“[The Once and Future King] mingles wisdom, wonderful, laugh-out-loud humor and deep sorrow—while telling one of the great tales of the Western world.”Guy Gavriel Kay

List Price:Price Not Listed
Kindle Edition:Check Amazon for Pricing Digital Only

Subscribe to my newsletter

Cool tricks, 100+ daily free Kindle books, software coupons and giveaway.

Thank you.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This